Skip to main content

The lifecycle of HIV


The HIV lifecycle is made up of four stages. Each of these involve a number of processes which happen in and around a human CD4 cell (part of our immune system). The virus locks onto and enters a CD4 cell where it makes copies of itself, these are then released back into the bloodstream and the process begins again. 

Explore more

Share this page

  • Last updated: 16 November 2022
  • Last full review: 01 March 2022
  • Next full review: 01 March 2025
Did you find this page useful?
See what data we collect and why